The Artist’s Way: Chapter Four

30 Oct

I spent this week trying to recover a sense of integrity, or trying to discover what genuinely interests me.  The exercises seemed geared toward moving past my assumptions so I could be aware of desires that I’ve ignored.  I’m always ready to move on the next chapter at the end of the week, but it’s also typical for me to feel like I’ve only just begun the work I need to do.  Progress, not perfection; I can always come back and do more.

I did a few of the exercises, including the one asking me to write about my ideal environment.  I also spent some time thinking about where I’m stuck and what possible benefit there could be in staying stuck.  I still feel stuck at my job.  I just do not make enough money there and I can’t see the benefit to leaving myself stuck, even if that job does have its good points and even if it’s only for another five months.  I have to try to improve.

I’m still enjoying the morning pages and doing them every day.  I find them to be an excellent tool for helping me learn what I’m really thinking and what I really want.  Writing 750 words means that I do get past the surface thought patterns and eventually see what else is there, beneath the layers of habit and reflex.  I do learn things from the simple act of writing my thoughts down.

* * *

The question I found most challenging this week: What are five skills that you think it would be fun to have?

6 Responses to “The Artist’s Way: Chapter Four”

  1. Susan Fuller November 5, 2011 at 8:26 AM #

    In our Artist’s Way classes Navé and I encourage folks to “declare it a success” no matter how much or how little they’ve done. There’s something very powerful about just continuing to move forward rather than redrawing “the chin line on a portrait until the paper tears” (Week 7).

    • Jill November 5, 2011 at 1:28 PM #

      That’s what I learned from Week 1 — I spend one week on each chapter and then I move on to the next, regardless of what I did or did not accomplish.

  2. Paula - Buenos Aires November 1, 2011 at 8:41 AM #

    Progress, not perfection is a great way to see this work! Thanks for the perspective.

    • Jill November 1, 2011 at 11:54 PM #

      And thank you for helping me find others doing this project. It’s great to be able to learn with a group.

  3. Lucy November 1, 2011 at 7:04 AM #

    As we all know, we each have dif. learning styles. Add to that life and your being on Chapter 4 is just where you should be. Keep reading and doing those chapters, oh, and morning pages.

    • Jill November 1, 2011 at 11:55 PM #

      I’m enjoying it thus far. The morning pages alone are worth it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

