Announcing My Second Childhood

28 Oct

LEGO!I’ve decided to make 2012 my second childhood and I’m excited about it; this seems like an excellent tool to help me rewrite my core story.  I have two major goals that I hope to accomplish: learning to have more fun and building better friendships.

Turning my two original goals into a core story changing project will make me more productive; instead of just tackling those two things, I’ll be able to fit in many tasks under the umbrella of a second childhood.  I’m going to want to buy some new bedding in the next several months —  every child needs that special blankie to help her sleep, so what bedding does my inner child want?  Can she have some pillows too?

Neither of those goals excite me on their own, but now that I’ve packaged them as a year long opportunity to return to childhood, I am just bursting with ideas.  I’m trying to remember the things I loved from being a child so I can use them to achieve these goals.  I have ideas for trips and activities, I have book lists, I have toys I want to buy.  I’m glad I’m giving myself an entire year, because there is so much potential here.

* * *

I’m very excited about this project, and I’ll write a more detailed post when it’s closer to 2012.  For now, I would love to hear about your favorite activities as a child.  What did you love?

3 Responses to “Announcing My Second Childhood”

  1. Camilla October 28, 2011 at 1:22 AM #

    New bedding for your inner child is a great move! I have flannel sheets, one with flamingos on it, and one with penguins. The pillowcases match them. They make me smile every single day, and are so soft and welcoming to my child every night.

    Have fun shopping for your special bedding!

    • Jill October 29, 2011 at 12:54 AM #

      Thank you! And how appropriate that you have animal themed sheets — the flamingos were a highlight of my last trip to the zoo and I will definitely be taking my inner child back there next year.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Seeds Planted #7 « Real Live Revolution - October 29, 2011

    […] found a theme for 2012.  That was completely unexpected; I wasn’t thinking about next year at all, but I think […]

Leave a Reply

