How to Identify and Change Your Core Story

18 Oct

The purpose of this blog is to document and share the changes I’m making to my core beliefs.  In the past few weeks I’ve started to see some real change and growth, so I thought I’d share some of the tools and information I’ve found helpful thus far.

Reverb10

The Reverb prompts were what started this blog.  I’d written a few posts prior to December 2010, but I was never consistent or focused.  It was the final prompt that really gave me something to think about and something to write about.  It took some time to commit to making such big changes though, so aside from a valiant effort in January, I wrote very little between Reverb10 and August.

Wishcasting

I can’t remember how I first learned about Wishcasting Wednesdays, but I’m so glad I did.  I can’t change my core story without having an idea of how I want the new story to read.  The Wishcasting prompts have been useful tools for asking myself questions about what I want, a vital part of writing that new story.  They have also connected me to a lovely, supportive community, which I greatly appreciate.

The Artist’s Way

It’s an entire book about changing your core story.  It doesn’t matter what your old story was or what your new story will be, this book is about how to get from the old to the new.  I’m happy I’m reading it right now and I’m finding it very helpful.  I’ll give the book its own post once I’ve completed it, but it already deserves mention here.

My Affirmations

I started these on my own, but I received some reinforcement from The Artist’s Way.

  • I can do this.
  • I am focused and well disciplined.
  • Progress, not perfection.

After a few weeks, I’m actually starting to see evidence of all three of these.  It sounds so hokey, but they have made a difference for me and they’re becoming an important part of how I rewrite my core story.

750 Words

It’s the space where I write my morning pages for The Artist’s Way, but I love it and I’m sure I’ll use it long after I complete the book.  It’s simple, yet fun, and provides me some extra little incentives to write.  (I love the badges.)  As I write (it takes about 20 minutes to write all 750 words), I notice patterns, or things I didn’t realize I was thinking or feeling.  The stream-of-consciousness nature is an excellent way to get in touch with what I want.

Destuckification

I enjoy Havi Brooks’ blog.  She inspires me to listen to myself and offer myself some compassion.  Rewriting my core story isn’t going to be easy, so I’m going to need that compassion to help me through this project.  I’m also going to need to listen to myself, so I can remember who I am and learn who I want to be.

I also used her Very Personal Ads as the template for my weekly Hello, Universe post.  Those posts have become a great practice for identifying what I want or need at any given moment.

How to Change a Habit

It’s not just about fixing the bad habits, we also have to try to create new good habits.  Scott H. Young offers some great advice on how to make those changes, all of which is directly applicable to rewriting your core story.  I’ll give a brief summary here, but it’s worthwhile to read the entire post.

  1. Set a conditioning period.  Don’t focus on results yet, focus on actions instead.  A perfect example of my “Progress, not perfection,” affirmation.
  2. Do it every day.  That’s the best way to turn a fluke into a habit, and the reason I post daily.
  3. Replace what you’re eliminating.  There’s a great explanation in the article and I think this is the crux of being able to enjoy the habit.
  4. Begin with the start in mind.  Focus on doing something and scaling up from there; the end goal will eventually become more attainable.

Remember Who You Are

I read Pam Slim’s contribution over at Gaping Void quite some time ago, but it was the phrase “remember who you are” that stuck with me.  Who am I?  How did I become this person?  Who do I want to be?  How can I become that person?  How did I get so far away from her in the first place? Those are the big questions I’m asking myself as I try to change my core story.

* * *

What tools do you use when you’re trying to make big changes?  What inspires you to examine your core beliefs?

2 Responses to “How to Identify and Change Your Core Story”

  1. Camilla October 18, 2011 at 1:36 AM #

    Great post – I use many of the same tools, and will check out the others! Thanks for the reinforcement 🙂

    • Jill October 18, 2011 at 10:29 PM #

      Thank you! Let me know if you find anything helpful that I haven’t mentioned. 🙂

Leave a Reply

