Hello Universe: Emotional Awareness

15 Oct

I’ve very pleased with how well I did practicing compassion this week.  These weekly goals are very helpful for me; they give me a way to focus without putting on undue pressure.

This week, I would like to bring my attention to my awareness of my emotional needs.  I tend to ignore how I’m feeling until it builds up into something explosive, which can sometimes cause unnecessarily impulsive actions.  I’d rather treat myself with a little more compassion.

What I Want

I want to be more attentive to how I’m feeling and what I’m having those feelings.  I want to be able to make small adjustments before I have to make major changes.  I want to pay attention to my needs and address them with love and compassion.

The Potential I Can See

As is so often the case, simply wanting to make this change should be a good start.  Once I begin the practice of acknowledging how I feel and making compassionate improvements, I’ll be able to refine the practice as needed.

My Commitment

I commit to being attentive.  I commit to being open to feeling that I typically would ignore or try to quash.  I commit to treating myself with care and compassion.  I commit to trusting myself and listening to what my emotions are trying to communicate.

* * *

How to do your emotions influence you?  Do you feel like you’re consistently aware of them and ready to act on them?

6 Responses to “Hello Universe: Emotional Awareness”

  1. Jill October 16, 2011 at 1:22 AM #

    Thanks for the kind words!

    I’m looking for a balance as well — I want my emotions to inform and influence my actions, without controlling them. Right now I tend to ignore them. 😦

  2. Camilla October 15, 2011 at 1:43 AM #

    I like the idea of acknowledging your feelings, and being attentive to them. It is a a good practice. Your post is very clear and well-written.

    My emotions have a great influence over me. I am trying to find a peaceful balance through affirmations, meditation, and yoga. I have seen some improvement 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello Universe: Joyful Movement « Real Live Revolution - October 24, 2011

    […] Last week’s effort to increase my emotional awareness was educational and interesting.  I’ve glad I made that a priority and I plan to continue to pay attention to what I am feeling.  It sounds so basic when I write it out, but it felt like a revelation. […]

  2. The Artist’s Way: Recovering a Sense of Power « Real Live Revolution - October 23, 2011

    […] of this is an example of synchronicity — I set the intention to spend the week focusing on emotional awareness before I read chapter […]

  3. Seeds Planted #6 « Real Live Revolution - October 22, 2011

    […] I was diligent about being attentive to my emotions. […]

  4. 3 Quick Tips to Cultivate Emotional Awareness « Real Live Revolution - October 21, 2011

    […] this week I set a goal to be more attentive to how I’m feeling, to encourage a sense of emotional awareness.  I […]

Leave a Reply

