The New Core Story: Step One

24 Sep

It’s one thing to recognize my original core story is holding me back and decide to move on, but where am I moving to?  If I’m going to successfully my core story, I need to have a new one in mind.  I need to take what’s obviously a huge project and turn it into something manageable, but I’m impatient.  I want my life to be awesome, NOW.  So what can I do to make some progress, so I can start to see improvements?

Being a cog in my own life doesn’t sound anywhere near as satisfying as running my life; I can begin by rewriting those daily, unexamined scripts that control my routine.  There are so many things that I want to accomplish, but so many of them don’t get done simply because doing them is not a part of my day.  I literally need to set aside part of each day and devote it to awesomeness.  I also need to automate the mundane so I don’t waste potentially awesome time thinking about it.

Tomorrow I’m going to start my new morning routine:

  1. Get up and dressed and ready to leave the house.
  2. Eat something.
  3. Go for a walk.

It really should be that simple, but I will happily procrastinate on each or all of those things on any given day.  My new core story says that I have healthy habits, so it’s time to automate my good intentions.

2 Responses to “The New Core Story: Step One”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello, Universe « Real Live Revolution - September 28, 2011

    […] care of myself and I want to work for and with people that will remember that I’m a person, not just a cog, and my time has […]

  2. Seeds Planted « Real Live Revolution - September 25, 2011

    […] started working on my new core story by trying a new morning routine.  Even in the short time I’ve been trying it, I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

