Career Revolution: Day 2

2 Aug
A MacConkey agar plate with an active bacteria...

Image via Wikipedia

Due to cystitis I didn’t accomplish nearly as much as I intended to.  Being slowed down by forces outside my control is frustrating, but the infection is what inspired this project.  I tried to go to work Saturday, despite being in a lot of pain.  Usually I’m able to accept things as they come at work and try to rationalize away anything I dislike.  I was too sick to do that on Saturday: I had to face the reality that I am not satisfied there.

I was unable to see a guidance counselor today, but I’ll be able to get in tomorrow.  I did spend part of today preparing for the meeting though; if my credits transfer properly I am halfway through the prereqs for my program.  I’m continuously getting more excited and I feel like I have a solid plan, something I never felt during my previous two attempts at school.

So, today I applied to one job and began participating in groups on both LinkedIn and Brazen Careerist.  I’m not sure what to think of Freelancer.com though.  It looks like a deluge of people competing for some very low-paying jobs.  I do want experience, but I do not want to waste my time.  I’m not sure what to think yet.

Other things I’m not sure of?  I received a response from the sex positive community I mentioned yesterday.  Their response turned me off the job completely.  They want me, along with all the other candidates, to write three fictional stories for their website and the one with the most traffic will get the job.  That does make sense, but I didn’t apply to write fiction (for good reason) and they’re not behaving in a forthcoming manner.  It sounds very much like they simply want free content and I can’t see how it will benefit me to provide it for them.

So tomorrow will bring one meeting, two job applications, and more tweaking of the social sites.  I’ve given both LinkedIn and Brazen Careerist halfhearted attempts in the past, but this time I can see their value.

Educate me: Does anyone have an opinion about Freelancer?  Or favorite groups on LinkedIn or Brazen Careerist?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

