Real Live Revolution: Career

1 Aug

It’s time to overhaul my career.  I’ve known that cooking was not my long-term plan for some time, so I moved to Spokane to help transition into something more suitable.  However, I intended to financially support myself via cooking until I acquired the qualifications I’m working toward.  That’s what I’m doing and I’m miserable.  So, instead of sucking it up, I’m going to spend August working on my career.  At the end of the month I’m going to have a job that I am genuinely interested in, a job that pays well, a job with a consistent schedule that will allow me to attend school.  Every day I’m going to do at least one action that will increase my ability to land the job I want.  I’m 27, and I am tired of working dead-end jobs that only allow me live paycheck to paycheck.  I’m going to change that in the next 31 days.*

Today is the first day of this project, and I started with profiles on LinkedIn and Brazen Careerist.  I applied for a job as a content creator for a sex positive community.  I actually have experience with online sex ed, both blogging and moderating forums, so it would be great to get back to that.  I’m also trying Freelancer.com so I can try a few things within my skill set, but outside my work experience.  I want a job that requires me to use my brain.

Tomorrow I’m going to meet with a counselor at school and work on getting that settled.  I’m also going to continue working on my LinkedIn, Brazen Careerist, and Freelancer efforts, and I’m going to apply for two jobs.  As I went over my work history and thought about what I’m actually capable of, it became very clear that there is no reason for me to settle for something that only provides me with an unimpressive paycheck.

*Inspired by Matt Cheuvront’s 31 Thank Yous.

2 Responses to “Real Live Revolution: Career”

  1. COMMITAPHOBE August 3, 2011 at 8:49 AM #

    Hello! I stumbled onto your blog via “goals” and that’s a great goal! Good luck on your job search!

    • Jill August 3, 2011 at 11:58 AM #

      Thank you! I can’t wait to see what you do with your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

