Clearly I’m working for other people.

10 Jan
I like blackberries.
Image via Wikipedia

I’m frustrated with my cooking job and have been for months now.  I was actually contemplating quitting, going as far as discussing switching to full time at the ski area (They never, ever tell me no at the ski area.  If I’m not getting what I want, it’s merely because I’m not asking the right questions.) and discussing the possibility with my supervisor at the restaurant.  Instead the restaurant gave me some much-needed appreciation, which made quitting feel mean, and even though I’m not happy, I don’t feel any need to be vindictive.

So, I’m staying on for at least a few more months.  I feel like I’m in a good position to ask for things and what I want is to work in nutrition and exercise science.  I have some work to do before that can be a reality, but there’s no reason I can’t start the work now.  I’d originally planned to talk to my boss about my continued employment, but instead we’re going to do some career enhancement.  I do work with some talented people and I want to take advantage of their knowledge.  One of my biggest issues with my job is I’m not learning enough, that this experience is just a job.  I’m going to see if I can’t use this job to further my own goals.  I think we’ll be able to find a mutually beneficial arrangement.  I’m glad I’ve found a way to approach my boss that isn’t fueled by frustration and boredom.

Right now my end-goal is to use nutrition as a tool to make skiing a better experience.  Ideally I’d like to be able to run multi-day clinics that offer advice on ski-specific nutrition, small-group ski lessons, and a whole-body approach to wellness.  I see it as the logical result of the work I’ve been doing for the past several year and I think it will make me happy and allow me to live the life I want for myself.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

