To: Me!

30 Dec
RSS Resilience at sea
Image via Wikipedia

Reverb10: Gift. This month, gifts and gift-giving can seem inescapable.  What’s the most memorable gift, tangible or emotional, you received this year?  (Author: Holly Root)

As I’ve mentioned, 2010 was a challenging year.  My friends and family both gave some wonderful things to make life better for me, but I am the one responsible for the big gift that let me get through this year healing instead of hurting.  My own resilience was what got me through the year.  It was my resilience that allowed me to look at each challenging situation and either grow from it or let go of it; it was my resilience that prevented me from self-blame, self-pity, or self-loathing.  I had help (and I am so grateful for those people), but I am the one that did the work.

That gift was uniquely needed in 2010, but it’s one I hope to continue to cultivate in 2011.  There will likely be more unpleasantness to slog my way through, and when that occurs, I want to be challenged and educated, not overwhelmed and broken.  I want to be able to look objectively at my life and take care of myself and my relationships and my environment, even during the worst of it.  Being able to deal with the bad will allow me to build the good.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

