Beef Fat. No, really.

26 Dec
Marbled beef
Image via Wikipedia

Reverb10: Soul Food.  What did you eat this year that you will never forget? What went into your mouth and touched your soul?  (Author: Elise Marie Collins)

Food is an incredibly important part of my life, so there are so many things that fit this prompt.

  • The endless lamb Jay fed me as a means of showing affection or regret.
  • The chocolate mocha cheesecake.
  • The citrus cheesecake with ginger crust.
  • The joy that is chocolate dob.
  • The ultimate comfort food: my chili.
  • The beef tartare Natt offered me when I started my job.
  • Chicken and dumplings.
  • Pasta with Paul and Tiff.
  • Apple bruschetta with bacon and bleu cheese.
  • Blake’s amazing red beans and rice.

However, the one thing I want to devote some time to is beef fat, specifically the fat that comes from beef ribs.  Short ribs, prime rib, and ribeye steaks all share this fat, and it is one of the best things I’ve ever put in my mouth.  The taste is determined by the meat and seasonings of course, but the texture is unique and oh, so wonderful.

I read a lot about food and nutrition, and I inevitably come across articles talking about the importance of reducing fat, or telling me if I must eat red meat I should only eat lean cuts, or preaching the evils of all saturated fats.  The fat I’m trying to describe assures me that those articles are wrong.  The most important thing about food is that it creates joy.  Nutrition is not as well understood as we would choose, and one thing I’m sure of is that eating food that makes us feel excited and satiated and well-fed all at once is good for us.  Eating food our bodies love will build healthier bodies.

I have a lot to say on this matter, but I’m going to stop here for the time being.  I’m grateful for all the wonderful meals I enjoy in 2010.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Responses to “Beef Fat. No, really.”

  1. Noel January 6, 2011 at 4:43 PM #

    Brilliant! I agree, those articles are wrong. They are the same articles that claim that avocados are full of fat too — as if!!!!

    • Jill January 6, 2011 at 5:29 PM #

      Avocados are full of fat, but does that make them less delicious or does it make them somehow bad? Not at all. I actually love making guacamole, because breaking down the avocados by hand does great things for my skin, and eating the guac does great things for the rest of me. 🙂

      (Reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avocado#Nutritional_value )

Leave a Reply

