Confronting Structure

20 Dec
Empty Room - Re Vamp
Image by oddsock via Flickr

Reverb10: Beyond Avoidance.  What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing?  (Bonus: Will you do it?)  (Author: Jake Nickell)

I feel like I didn’t spend enough time pursuing my goals in 2010.  I did keep myself busy just getting through what turned out to be a very challenging year, but I didn’t make the progress I had initially hoped for.

Specific things I could have done to get closer to my end-goals?

  • I could have defined my goals more clearly.
  • I could have set up better metrics and measured my progress more consistently.
  • I did not spend enough time reviewing my progress and tweaking the desired outcome.

I know what I want, but I haven’t broken that down into detailed, actionable steps and I think that’s what needs to happen to make 2011 more successful.  My goals for 2011:

  1. Go back to school.
    • FAFSA.
    • Apply to a couple of colleges — online only right now.
    • Talk to a guidance counselor to ensure I take my prerequisites in a timely manner.
    • Make sure all scholarships and financial aide benefits are in place.
  2. Build a strong, healthy body.
    • Eat well.
    • Daily yoga.
    • Skiing!
    • Supplement with walks/hikes, kayaking, dancing, weight-training, etc.
    • Take advantage of my health insurance.
  3. More financial stability.
    • Make final payment on my loan and resolve any other financial issues.
    • Start an emergency fund.
    • Increase my income.
    • Start contributing to my 401K.
    • Get a credit card.
  4. Keep a clear space to create.
    • Keep the house tidy.
    • Eliminate clutter.
    • Use what I have.
    • Be mindful of what I bring in.

Even that needs to be broken down further, but it’s a starting point.  Later this week I’ll take the time to make a detailed list and start structuring 2011.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

