Friendship

16 Dec
Friendship love and truth
Image via Wikipedia

Reverb10: Friendship. How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Was this change gradual, or a sudden burst? (Author: Martha Mihalick)

As difficult as this year has been, I am ending it with more friends than I started it with.  Over and over again I have felt that I have not been at my best — far from it.  And it never mattered.  I have people who care about me, who are willing to be patient with me.  I have met people who genuinely appreciate who I am and accept me seemingly without hesitation.  Because of them I am feeling more freedom to do and say what I feel.  (Okay, so I’ve never felt much restriction on this anyway…still it’s even easier.)  I’m also finding it easier to ask for help.  It’s a year of growth, but there’s always been someone to make sure I’m getting enough water.

I’ve also had people in my life who do not appreciate me, who have chosen to misunderstand me, or were afraid to accept me.  For the most part those people have left my life, whether by my choices or their own.  Writing it out like that helps.  It’s always hard to lose someone I care about, but for the most part, the people I am losing do not fit into my life.  They either did not understand or did not appreciate what I’m trying to do and they interfered with my ability to be my highest self.  I think that’s what I’m looking for in a friend: someone who sees where I am and where I’m going and is honest enough to help me get there.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

