Actions > Words

14 Dec
Photo: shopkeeper expresses a nation's gratitu...
Image via Wikipedia

Reverb10: Appreciate. What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it? (Author: Victoria Klein)

I find it easy to appreciate things, easy to see the good in people, easy to find joy in my life.  What I find difficult is showing my appreciation.  I cannot count the number of times that I’ve kept my appreciation to myself instead of sharing it.  Part of the reason I do this is perfectionism — if I’m going to do something I want to do it right.  I am letting the perfect be the enemy of the good.

I’d like to stop this.  I want to show my gratitude simply and immediately instead of waiting until I can do it perfectly.  (Or never.  Never frequently comes before perfectly.)  What I’m going to try is a gratitude list.  At the end of the day I’m going to write down the things I appreciated throughout the day and I’m going to write down potential ways to show my appreciation — everything from the quick and easy to the grand perfection.  I believe that giving gratitude some space will make it easier to manifest tangibly.

Today’s example: I attended a wine-tasting class at work that I thoroughly enjoyed.  I appreciate the presenter’s approach and her willingness to share her experience with us.  I thanked her, but I also told some of my coworkers how much I enjoyed the class and sent a text to a mutual friend.  I frequently feel that I should be doing more to express my gratitude, but that felt like enough and none of it was onerous.  I want to express appreciation as easily as I feel it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

