“I’m going to treat you kind”

7 Dec
online_communities
Image by .mw via Flickr

Reverb10: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Author: Cali Harris)

I am something of a workaholic, so the community I have the deepest connections to is always my job.  I have two jobs, one as a ski instructor at my favorite place in Tahoe, another as a cook at an ostentatious hotel.

I just went to orientation at the ski area and it was obvious I belong in that community; of course it’s easy to belong somewhere if everyone shares the same passion.  I love skiing, but so does the old, cranky guy, so we have something big in common.  We all have respectable skills, comparable goals, and similar training.  Despite diverse personal lives, I find it effortless to create community with these people.

The restaurant I work in provides me with my other community.  It’s not like ski school, which is a fairly closed, goal-driven community.  Not everyone at the restaurant cooks and most of us are there for a paycheck, not because we can’t imagine being anywhere else.  Our commonalities, if we have them, are found in our personal lives.  All the same, some of my coworkers are coming over tomorrow for Nerd Night, I had a great time going out with some others for a birthday party (and I generally hate going out), and I can’t wait to ski with yet others.  This group of people came together completely by chance, but we’re still a genuine community.

In 2011, I want to spend more time actively creating community.  I tend to passively fall into various groups — I keep showing up for my own purposes until I eventually realize I’m part of something bigger.  I want a community of people who are passionate about doing or creating something, a community that will provide me with more than just social contact.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

