The Artist’s Way: Week 5

6 Nov

Chapter six, Recovering a Sense of Possibility, was all about learning what we want and how we limit ourselves.  I found it the most interesting and approachable chapter thus far.

The Basics

Morning Pages: 7/7

Artist’s Date: Super hard this week; I could not relax and I did not feel terribly creative.  I finally just watched Battlestar Galactica in the bath.  It was more passive than creative, but it was some nice, quiet time with myself.

Tasks: This week I did the majority of the tasks.  I love making lists and this week was all about lists designed to give me a little insight into what I want and what I can do.

  • 5 Things I Would Do If It Weren’t Too Crazy
  • 5 Things I Would Do If It Weren’t Too Selfish
  • 10 Things I Love That I Am Not Allowed To Do
  • 19 Wishes
  • 5 Grievances I Have With God
  • 5 Things My Wealth, 65-year-old Self Will Do
  • 10 Ways I Am Mean To Myself
  • 10 Items I Would Like To Own

Affirmations

  • I can do this.
  • Progress, not perfection.
  • I am focused and disciplined.
  • I have a beautiful, healthy body.
  • I deserve the wealth of the universe; I return it with joy and enthusiasm.

What I Learned

I’m starting to see that my problems are very basic in nature: Fear of deviating from that core story poverty mentality is huge for me.  I still see life as a zero-sum game, so if I have something good now, that means I can’t have it later.  Next week we work on recovering a sense of abundance, something I think will be very helpful for me.

* * *

I found it illuminating to look at the things I don’t do out of fear of selfishness.  Are these things really selfish?  What does it mean to be selfish?

If it weren’t too selfish, I would…

  1. Get the hell out of Spokane today.
  2. Buy nice clothes.
  3. Resume my annual trip to my favorite music festival.
  4. Let go of the friends who rarely put effort into our friendship.
  5. Spend more time, money, and attention on my appearance.

What are your selfish desires?

6 Responses to “The Artist’s Way: Week 5”

  1. Camilla November 7, 2011 at 3:29 AM #

    Battlestar Galactica in the bathtub – that’s the best Artist Date I have heard of!

    Sounds like you are doing great with the tasks. Keep up the great work you are doing.

    I’ve “borrowed” a few of your affirmations to add to my own – thanks for sharing!

    I have to finish some tasks from Chapter 9, and start reading Chapter 10 this week….

    • Jill November 7, 2011 at 11:22 PM #

      Thanks for the encouragement, and I’m glad I could help.

      Are you finding that the book is going quickly? This project looked so big when I started it, but I’m almost halfway there.

      • Camilla November 7, 2011 at 11:40 PM #

        We spend two weeks per chapter, to give us more time in our busy lives to get to the tasks. I find it just makes me procrastinate more! I could just about handle one week per chapter We have been working together on this since May/June, so yeah, it seems to drag at times. I need to be better about making myself work more with the book, and rereading, and tasks….. Keep going and you’ll catch up with us soon!

    • Jill November 8, 2011 at 10:17 PM #

      Oh, wow, I knew you guys were doing 2 weeks per chapter, but I didn’t really think about it. That’s such a huge time commitment — I’m very impressed you’ve stuck with it this long; I’m not sure I could do the same.

  2. Ellie Di November 6, 2011 at 12:15 PM #

    Every one of those things sounds perfectly brilliant, my dear – self-nurturing and well-filling. Remember that it’s being self-centred that’s crappy, not being selfish. If those things in your list will recharge your batteries and help you be a more awesome you, go for it.

    • Jill November 7, 2011 at 12:09 AM #

      Thank you. That is the attitude I’m trying to adopt. And thanks for your blog post — it was helpful and fun. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.