Choosing to be a Wage Slave

25 Oct

One of the reasons I’m working on my core story is because I’ve never had a good job.  (Aside from teaching skiing, but working five months a year is not practical.)  I have some preconceived ideas about the type of jobs I can get and how I can be compensated for my work, and it’s well past time to get some better ideas.

I’m trying to create a career for myself, something that bring in the kind of money I want to make while providing me with interesting and challenging work.  I’m starting to get a sense of direction in all of this, so I’ve decided to keep my current wage-slave position.

Let me explain.  My current job doesn’t pay very well, I’m not learning much, and I routinely feel taken advantage of.  However, the hours and schedule are consistent, something I’ve rarely had in the past.  That consistency is allowing me to schedule time to work on my own projects, to make an effort toward creating a career.

I’ve spent the past month applying for a better job, but I don’t think that’s the best use of my time.  Looking for a new job is a short-term goal — I only plan to be in Spokane for another five months; spending time on the skills and portfolio that will help me create a career will help me achieve my long-term goals.

I’m having a hard time settling for this job, but I think I’ll be very happy I had the discipline to stay focused on the long-term when I’m looking for a new job in five months.  I can do this.

* * *

How do you prioritize between long-term goals and short-term goals?

One Response to “Choosing to be a Wage Slave”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Artist’s Way: Chapter Four « Real Live Revolution - October 30, 2011

    [...] I still feel stuck at my job.  I just do not make enough money there and I can’t see the benefit to leaving myself stuck, even if that job does have its good points and even if it’s only for another five months.  [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.