The Catalyst for Change

7 Oct

Three years ago I arrived in Truckee, California.  Several days earlier I’d left Michigan, where I’d lived my entire life, and drove out there via the scenic route.  At that time, all I knew was that I needed a change.  I didn’t know what I needed and I certainly didn’t know how I was going to do it, but moving across the country seemed like a good first step.

It was.  Sure, moving across the country in a reliable car, without having to borrow money, or at least having a job waiting would have been a better first step, but I was able to make progress without getting caught up in perfection.

Moving did not solve my problems, but it did show me which problems were caused by my circumstances and which problems were caused by me.  Moving did change my circumstances and it showed me that I can do big, life-changing things pretty much any time I want to, if I just take that first leap.

I made my first step toward change because I was incredibly unhappy and didn’t know how to help myself; all I could do was something drastic.  Is it like that for everyone?  Is change usually brought on by duress?  What happens when things get better — do you keep trying to change or do you become satisfied?

I guess the short version of what I’m asking is what’s your catalyst for change?

2 Responses to “The Catalyst for Change”

  1. Camilla October 7, 2011 at 6:04 AM #

    Crisis is my catalyst for change. I’ve made several life-changing moves over the years, always precipitated by extreme unhappiness. Things are better for a while, until the next crisis occurs. But each move has taken me in a more positive direction than the path I was on. I have another big move looming on the horizon in the spring, and I sincerely hope it will be my last one! I’m in Michigan now – nice to come across a former Michigander!

    • Jill October 9, 2011 at 1:10 AM #

      Where are you in Michigan? I lived near Cadillac and I always miss it this time of year.

      I appreciate how much you comment and what you have to say. Let me know if you’re ever interested/have the time to guest post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.