Seeds Planted: New Job

2 Oct

“Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

  1. I started a new job this week!  It’s both a seed and a harvest — obviously getting a job is the result of earlier seeds, but now it’s time to plant some new seeds and sow some success.  This job is not a good long-term plan, but I do want to have a good experience while I’m there.
  2. I applied to a few different places this week.  I do have a new job, but I want a better one so I’m going to go find it.  Or create it.  I’m trying to remember that I have a wide variety of skills and capabilities, so there’s no need to limit myself to two very narrow fields.  Shitty pay vs. shitty hours is a false dichotomy; why would I settle for either?
  3. I started reading The Artist’s Way.  Obviously it’s a classic self-help book, but it’s also a book about rewriting your core story, specifically so you can see yourself as an artist.  Seeing myself as an artist isn’t important to me, but rewriting my core story?  Yes, please.  I’m enjoying the morning pages.  I’m using the wonderful 750 Words and my goal is to do my morning pages (or afternoon pages, as appropriate) every day this month.  I also chose an affirmation: “I am focused and well disciplined.”

3 Responses to “Seeds Planted: New Job”

  1. Zakaria Pettey October 4, 2011 at 11:14 AM #

    Excellent post. Some good points you dicuss in there.

    • Jill October 6, 2011 at 9:39 PM #

      Thank you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello Universe: Focus and Discipline « Real Live Revolution - October 3, 2011

    […] part of the first week of The Artist’s Way, I chose an affirmation for myself: “I am focused and well-disciplined.”  I chose […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.