Seeds Planted

17 Sep

“Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

What seeds did I plant today?  I found myself focusing primarily on social goals and maintaining my relationships.

  1. I called my great-aunt to check on her.  My great-grandmother, her mom, died this week and she took it hard.  She seems to be doing better now than when I saw her on Saturday.
  2. I talked to my step-dad for over half an hour.  We rarely talk at all, but we both enjoyed spending time together when I was in Michigan this week.  My mom has a poverty mentality and they’re both just very stressed out right now.  He and I have never really been close, so it helps that I’m supporting him at this time.
  3. I briefly talked to my dad.  It was his grandmother that died, so I wanted to make sure he was okay and find out how the funeral went.  He has some good memories of his grandmother, but he seems to be okay.
  4. I went to the bar with Amy.  I rarely go out and I feel especially broke now, but it was nice to spend a little time together out of the house.
  5. I talked to Tiff about moving back to Reno.  We both loved it there and living together was amazingly easy.
  6. I exchanged a couple of texts with Justin.  That’s all it takes to remind me that he is wonderful and I am glad we are friends.
  7. I applied for a job and started a drastic overhaul of my résumé.
  8. I called a temp agency, but I’m not sure what to think.  I’ll finish my résumé and then take it in to a few different places on Monday.

Some days I don’t use my phone at all, but today I managed to really connect with people.  I’m not very good at that, so it was nice to find it so easy to do.

I found this exercise really helpful, so I’m going to try to make it a weekly feature.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.