Ordinary Joy

27 Dec
Theodor von Lerch(テオドール・エードラー・フォン・レルヒ), an Aus...
Image via Wikipedia

Reverb10: Ordinary Joy. Our most profound joy is often experienced during ordinary moments. What was one of your most joyful ordinary moments this year?  (Author: Brené Brown)

Skiing is my ordinary joy.  The stand-out moment in 2010 was when one of the kids I teach, Annie, told me she loved me as she and her grandmother walked away.  It was such a simple, sweet moment; I’m so happy she enjoyed skiing with me so much that she could say that as only a three-year-old can.  Moments like that not only bring me joy, they assure me that I am on the right path.

However, that was not an ordinary moment and skiing provides me with plenty of ordinary moments of joy.  Every time I ride up the chairlift and see my beautiful mountains unfold, or stand at the top and look at what I’m about to do.  Every time I take a lesson that expands the mountain for me, or teach a lesson that helps someone turn for the very first time.  I am lucky that I am able to spend my time doing something that brings so much joy into my life.

Except it’s not actually luck; I chose to have this life and I’ve worked to make it happen.  People frequently tell me they wish they could ski as much as I do…they can of course, they’ve just made different choices.  There are things I wish I could spend more time doing, but I haven’t made those choices yet.  Maybe someday I will, but for now, I will take joy in my day-to-day adventure.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.