Empire Building

13 Dec
The Roman Empire by 271 AD
Image via Wikipedia

Reverb10: Action. When it comes to aspirations, it’s not about ideas. It’s about making ideas happen. What’s your next step? (Author: Scott Belsky)

This year is about building, more specifically building my empire.  Right now I think that money, accountability, and education are the biggest things I can do to build my empire.

Money
I need a clearer picture of what I have and what I’m going to do with it.  The next step is to make a spreadsheet of my expenses and financial goals.  I’ll need to review that, and my actual account balances nightly to make sure I’m on track.

Education
It’s time to go back to school.  I enjoy what I do, but it does not facilitate empire-building — I can do better.  The next step is to decide which school is right for me and apply.  Next will come chats with a guidance counselor to make sure I have reasonable expectations, and setting up financial aid.

Accountability
I need just a little more structure.  Simple things like the financial spreadsheet, a deadline calendar for school, and a daily to-do list will probably be enough.  I am the person I am accountable to, so it’s time to implement these things.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One Response to “Empire Building”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Direction « Real Live Revolution - January 6, 2011

    [...] points in 2011.  As, I’ve said before, 2011 is to be a building year, and I plan to build an empire.  But building an empire is a vague goal, so just what am I trying to [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.