Body and Risk

3 Dec
Sami woman on skis, adapted from Olaus Magnus,...
Image via Wikipedia

Reverb10: Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).  (Author: Ali Edwards)

There are several moments, all of them important.

The first moment was less a moment and more a season; I made real progress with my skiing last winter and it showed itself in my ability to ski steeper, scarier terrain.  I was able to enjoy some terrain that I never thought I’d be able to ski.  I made some new mental connections and clarified exactly what I’m trying to do when I teach my own lessons*.  I love skiing more than anything else and it shows.

Another moment came after taking some drugs and spending the evening in bed.  I felt an incredibly strong connection to both my body and my partner and I want those connections (not necessarily that partner) to become a frequent part of my life.

The last moment also involved sex; a couple of months ago I had amazing chemistry with a casual encounter.  I felt very comfortable trying new things and taking a few risks with him.  I had a wonderful time with him and feel our night was something I’ve needed.

All three of these incidents brought me closer to my body via some sort of risk.  I am not suggesting that I should make 2011 the year of stupidity and recklessness, but I need to pay more attention to my body and I need to be less afraid to take a few chances.  I’ll be okay; I’ll actually probably be better.

*I am trying to teach people to use their bodies to find the same joy I do.  I don’t want my clients to walk away with a few pleasant memories; I want them to walk away fully addicted and in love.

One Response to “Body and Risk”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wonderful Spokane? « Real Live Revolution - July 30, 2011

    [...] thing that will help, is to take more risks.  I need to push myself in new ways, and I can’t let habit and security hold me back.  [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.